I’ve proclaimed myself as a lover of homemade granola around these parts before, so I’ll keep this brief. I love granola. My dad has been baking up the same homemade granola recipe for as long as I can remember, but I like to mix things up and try different recipes and combinations of fruits and nuts.

This recipe comes from Martha Stewart, but she calls it honey-pecan granola. Well, I didn’t have any pecans (I’m not  big fan) and I like my granola to include at least a little fruit, so this is my riff on her recipe.  This is more delicately flavored than my maple granola recipe, and I kept it simple with limiting my fruits to coconut and golden raisins. It’s yummy with milk or sprinkled on top of yogurt. Feel free to adjust the fruits and nuts in this recipe to suit your taste!

Nutty Honey Granola with Golden Raisins

Adapted from Martha Stewart

3 cups old fashioned rolled oats

1 1/2 cups roughly chopped nuts ( I used a combination of walnuts, almonds, and cashews)

1/4 cup flax seed meal (optional)

1/4 cup wheat bran (optional)

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1/3 cup honey (I prefer clover, Martha recommends something stronger-tasting like orange blossom)

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup golden raisins

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except for the raisins and mix well. Spread granola onto baking sheet in an even layer. Bake until oats and coconut are lightly golden, about 30 minutes, stirring halfway through. Let cool completely on sheet and then mix in the raisins. Store in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 weeks.

